The Original
Vegan Ice Cream in Switzerland

0%

Milk

​100%

​Joy

​100%

​Bio Fair

​100%

​Vegan

Top new for you!

Our Story in 2 minutes

Our Ice Cream

Intense walnut ice cream + caramelized walnut + dark gray maple syrup = ultimate ice cream enjoyment!

Vanilla

The Queen of all ice cream flavours in a tempting new dress. Real vanilla pods combined with pure organic vanilla extract. Based on organic soy.

Strawberry

Tenderly melting, this strawberry ice cream tastes like a sweet kiss at sunrise. Enjoy this pure, rich flavor accompanied by real juicy fruit pieces. Based on organic rice milk.

​Pistachio

Tenderly melting, this strawberry ice cream tastes like a sweet kiss at sunrise. Enjoy this pure, rich flavour accompanied by real juicy fruit pieces. Based on organic rice milk.

​Coffee Crunch

The Queen of all ice cream flavours in a tempting new dress. Real vanilla pods combined with pure organic vanilla extract. Based on organic soy.

​Chocolate Chip

Tenderly melting, this strawberry ice cream tastes like a sweet kiss at sunrise. Enjoy this pure, rich flavor accompanied by real juicy fruit pieces. Based on organic rice milk.

​Salted Caramel

This heavenly, all natural pistachio ice cream is every connoisseur's dream. Pure organic pistachio paste and crunchy pistachio pieces guarantee an unforgettable taste expereince. Based on organic rice milk.

Pixie: Delicious Frozen Smoothies

This is a familiar problem:


Children love sweets but parents want to pay attention to a healthy diet for their kids. 

Our solution: delicious, healthy, frozen smoothies!

80% Organic Fruit   No Refined Sugar

  Points of Sale

You can find our delicious products in the following locations.

Our Philosophy

Compared to dairy ice cream, our plant-based ice cream possesses three major advantages:

  • Our ice cream emits 2/3 less greenhouse gasses, which are     responsible for climate change.
  • Our production also uses much less natural resources, namely water, land, and energy.
  • This ice cream avoids all forms of animal suffering, which is unfortunately very evident in today’s common commercial cow milk production​.

Thus there are three convincing arguments that speak for the vegan production of our ice cream. Our ice cream is a great example of how there doesn’t need to be any compromise when living a healthy and vegan lifestyle. To learn more about this, check out: http://www.peta.org.uk/living/

The Green Fairy only makes use of organic and raw ingredients whose production is proven to be entirely sustainable and respectful to nature. When we say our products are organic we don’t just mean the ingredients but every resource that our operations use. This is borne out in everything we do, from our decision to the use of biodegradable FSC-certificated cardboard packaging to choosing the shortest possible routes of transport and every decision in between.  

The Green Fairy values fair collaboration with all of its partners and suppliers. It matters greatly to us that we only use products that do not disadvantage or exploit anybody. That is why, wherever possible, we work with Fair Trade ingredients, thus making a contribution to social development in production countries. The Green Fairy doesn’t simply wish for a better world – we do something about it!

The Green Fairy products are a real godsend for allergy sufferers and people who wish to or have to avoid dairy products in their diet.
Since  our cholesterol-free products contain neither gluten nor any animal ingredients they are also suitable for those with lactose or lactoprotein intolerance.
Rest assured, where ever The Green Fairy logo appears you are guaranteed that the products are entirely safe.  

Most of our ice creams contain plenty of delicious bits, and pieces. This way, with every spoon of this delicacy, you can taste exactly what is in the ice cream.

The Green Fairy does good. And you can do too! For every ice cream we sell, we invest 5 Swiss cents in projects in developing countries. According to our philosophy, we want to actively participate in the process of making the world a better place. Miracles happen again and again – and with every ice cream even more often.

Our Story

Photo by
©Claudia Herzog

There was a time (not too long ago), when a young woman in Zürich desperately desired some tasty ice cream, but without any dairy-products. She just had one problem: there was none in Switzerland. After some time, craving ice cream of course, she decided to take matters into her own hands.

She acquired a small ice cream machine, searched through books and the internet and started creating and gathering her own ice cream recipes. Through trial and error, she experimented with all kinds of ice cream, until she created some that was as delicious and creamy as she had imagined it to be. Her little sun Loïc got the position of the new chief taster, which he still holds today.

After months of recipe testing and improving, she invited her friends over to a small ice cream party, where they could try all the delicacies she had cooked up in her kitchen. There were wild variations like Vanilla-Cardamom ice cream, Early Grey ice cream and even Coconut-Curry ice cream (along with a few classics of course). Their reactions were very enthusiastic (except for the Coconut-Curry ice cream), which is when she decided to find a way to distribute her ice cream more widely.

Searching for someone to take over her ice cream production on a larger scale, she came across the organic bakery Vier Linden in Zürich, which was essential for establishing The Green Fairy. The name “The Green Fairy” embodies values the business wholeheartedly supports: playfulness, environmental friendliness and fairness: The Green Fairy was born!

In the summer of 2012, the first collection of eight flavours was launched throughout cool and innovative organic stores and cafes in Zurich and Winterthur, finding their way to a variety of open airs and markets. The ice cream season progressed, with many joyful testimonials from loyal customers (“Aaaawesome, I can finally eat ice cream again! – “Mom, I want a lot more of this ice cream!” – “Wow, this is the best chocolate ice cream I have ever had!”), which of course delighted this young woman.

Suddenly, people and stores all over Switzerland asked for this delicious lactose-free ice cream, encouraging the young woman to expand production in order to distribute the ice cream within all of Switzerland. She then discovered Mister Cool, a large ice cream producing facility, which she was able to establish a great partnership with. Throughout the autumn and winter, they experimented with the recipes and perfected them in order to prepare for the launch of another summer collection.

In the meantime, two years have passed while the product line has been expanded and the recipes have constantly been improved. Also, Sonja has gotten support: Winette, Tobias, Nelson, Anja, Wolfram, our interns Michelle and Luca and other helpers – all wonderful, idealistic people who support The Green Fairy mostly on a voluntary basis.

B2B

Would you like to offer our Ice cream in your shop, café, restaurant, movie theater or Badi? Here, you'll find our distributors, where you can order our ice cream:

The Book


​Eis Mit Stil

You can also make vegan ice cream!
It is also not difficult, once you know how to do it.
This is where our book comes in. Here, you can find a variety of creative and innovative recipes for your personal ice cream. Only vegan, full of taste, and here to please those craving an ice cold delight.

​The Green Fairy

​Zurlindenstrasse 236

CH-8003 Zürich

Switzerland

Contact Us

+41 78 618 55 53

info@thegreenfairy.ch

Have a question? Check out our FAQ section:

Newsletter

Stay in the loop about what's happening at The Green Fairy! Enter your email address below to join the newsletter:

​Follow Us

Die ​Originale
Vegane Glace aus der Schweiz

0%
Milk

  100%
Joy

100%
BioFair

100%
Vegan

Ganz neu für euch:

Unsere Geschichte in 2 Minuten

Unsere Glaces

Intensives Baumnuss-Glace + karamellisierte Baumnuss-Stückchen + eingestrudelter dunkler Ahorn-Sirup = ultimativer Glace-Genuss!

​Vanilla

veganes glace neue rezeptur

Die Mutter aller Eissorten in einem ungekannten, betörenden Geschmackskleid. Echte Bio-Vanillesamen, vereint mit reinem Bio-Vanilleextrakt

​Strawberry

Zartschmelzend und fruchtig wie ein süsser Kuss im Morgentau. Freuen Sie sich auf den Genuss von reinem Erdbeermark und saftigen, echten Fruchtstückchen.

​Pistachio

veganes glace neue rezeptur

Bei diesem Pistazieneis kommen Kenner ins Träumen. Reine Bio-Pistazienpaste und Stückchen sorgen für ein unvergleichliches Geschmackserlebnis.

​Coffee Crunch

veganes glace neue rezeptur

Da wird jeder Kaffeeliebhaber hellwach. Intensiver Geschmack aus fair gehandeltem Kaffee, veredelt mit leckerem Haselnuss-Krokant.

Chocolate Chip

Für alle, die wissen, wie richtige Schokolade schmeckt. Edle schwarze Bio-Schokolade mit 70% Kakaoanteil, gespickt mit knackigen Schokostückchen.

​Salted Caramel

veganes glace neue rezeptur

Der Gewinner unseres Kundenvotings: Intensiver dunkler Karamell mit einer Prise Fleur de Sel – die raffinierte Kombination aus süss und salzig macht absolut süchtig!  

Pixie Frozen Smoothies

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

Dieses Dilemma kennt jeder: Kinder möchten leckere Süssigkeiten, aber Eltern möchten auf eine gesunde Ernährung achten.


Unsere Lösung: Gesundes Glace zum Naschen!


60% Bio Früchte   
0% Zuckerzusatz

Verkaufsstellen

Unsere feinen Glaces sind in diesen Läden verfügbar.

Unsere Philosophie

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

Unser pflanzliches Eis hat gegenüber tierischem, auf Milchprodukten und Eiern basierendem Eis drei zentrale Vorteile:

  • Es verursacht ca. 2/3 weniger Treibhausgas-Emissionen, die für den Klimawandel verantwortlich sind.
  • Seine Produktion verbraucht massiv viel weniger natürliche Ressourcen, also Wasser, Land und Energie.
  • Es vermeidet das Tierleid, das mit der heutigen kommerziellen Kuhmilchproduktion verbunden ist.

Ganz schön gewichtige Gründe also, die für unser Eis sprechen – vor allem, weil das ohne „Verzicht“ absolut genussvoll und lecker geht!

Mehr zu diesen Themen findet ihr z.B. hier: www.eaternity.org/foodprint/ - www.tier-im-fokus.ch/info-material

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

The Green Fairy verwendet nur Bio-Rohstoffe, deren Anbau nachweislich nachhaltig ist und die Natur respektiert. Unter Bio verstehen wir auch einen sorgfältigen Umgang mit sämtlichen Ressourcen, die unser Betrieb benötigt oder verbraucht.

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

The Green Fairy legt Wert auf einen fairen Umgang mit allen Partnern und Zulieferern. Es ist uns ein Anliegen, nur Produkte anzubieten, die niemanden benachteiligen oder gar ausbeuten. Aus diesem Grund verarbeiten wir wann immer möglich Zutaten aus fairem Handel (Max Havelaar) und leisten so unseren Beitrag zur sozialen Entwicklung in unseren Produzentenländern. The Green Fairy wünscht sich nicht nur eine bessere Welt – wir tun auch was dafür!

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

Lebensmittel von The Green Fairy sind ein Segen für Allergiker und Menschen, die auf Kuhmilchprodukte verzichten wollen oder müssen. Denn unsere cholesterinfreien Produkte enthalten weder Gluten, noch tierische Inhaltsstoffe und sind vor allem bei Unverträglichkeiten von Laktose oder Milcheiweiss sehr geeignet. Kurz: wo The Green Fairy drauf steht, ist Sicherheit drin. Kein Wunder.

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

Viele unserer Eissorten enthalten Stückchen  und zwar so richtig viele! Denn man soll bei jedem einzelnen Löffel schmecken, was in unserem Eis drin ist.

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

The Green Fairy tut Gutes. Und Sie auch! 5 Rp pro Glace gehen an Projekte in Entwicklungsländern. Gemäss unserer Philosophie wollen wir uns aktiv daran beteiligen, dass die Welt ein besserer Ort wird. Wunder geschehen immer wieder – und mit jedem Glace immer öfters.

Unsere Geschichte

Foto © Claudia Herzog

Es war einmal (vor noch nicht allzu langer Zeit) eine junge Frau in Zürich namens Sonja, die hatte schreckliche Sehnsucht nach richtig leckeren Glaces in ihren Lieblingssorten – ohne Kuhmilch. Aber die fand sie einfach nirgends. Nach einer Weile sehnen und wünschen beschloss sie, die Sache selbst in die Hand zu nehmen.

 

Sie besorgte sich eine kleine Glacemaschine, durchsuchte Bücher und das magische Netz nach Rezepten, und begann in ihrer Küche Glace-Rezepturen zusammenzumischen. Sie probierte und experimentierte, bis das Eis endlich so lecker war, dass sie es mit grossem Genuss verspeisen konnte. Ihrem kleinen Sohn Loïc wurde der Posten des kritischen Kindergeschmack-Cheftesters übergeben, den er bis heute innehat.

 

Nach ein paar Monaten Rezepte testen und verfeinern lud sie ihre Freunde zu einem Glace -Fest in ihrem Garten ein. Es gab wilde Kreationen, von Vanille-Kardamon Glace über Earl Grey Glace bis zu Kokos-Curry Glace (und ein paar Klassiker). Die Reaktionen waren enthusiastisch (zugegeben, nicht zum Kokos-Curry-Glace), und da beschloss die junge Frau einen Weg zu finden um ihre Glaces auch anderen Menschen mit Glacesehnsucht anzubieten.

Sie ging auf die Suche und fand schliesslich mit der Bio-Bäckerei Vier Linden in Zürich einen Produzenten und Partner, der Feuer und Flamme für die Idee war. Als Namen wählte sie etwas, das die Werte verkörpert, auf denen ihr Projekt beruht: Verspieltheit, Umweltfreundlichkeit und Fairness: „The Green Fairy“ war geboren!

Im Sommer 2012 wurde die erste Kollektion von acht ausgefallenen Sorten The Green Fairy Glaces in innovativen Bio-Läden und Cafés in Zürich und Winterthur lanciert, und fand ihren Weg zu Openairs und Märkten. Die Glacesaison verging mit vielen kleinen Erfolgserlebnissen ("So coooool, endlich chan ich wieder Glace ässe! – „Mami, ich wet no VIL MEH vo dem Glace! – „Boah, das isch s feinschte Schoggi-Glace wonich je gässe han!“) und das machte die junge Frau glücklich!

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

Da sich Menschen und Läden aus der ganzen Schweiz gemeldet hatten, die auch von den feinen Milchfreien Bio-Glaces träumten, beschloss die junge Frau, die Produktion zu vergrössern um in die in die ganze Schweiz liefern zu können. Sie suchte wiederum und fand mit der „Mister Cool“ Glace-Produktionsstätte einen grossartigen Schweizer Partner für dieses Unterfangen. Den ganzen Herbst und Winter lang entwickelten und verbesserten sie zusammen die Rezepte der Sorten für die neue Sommerkollektion, bis sie endlich rundum zufrieden waren!

 

Inzwischen sind zwei Jahre vergangen, während denen die Rezepturen ständig weiterentwickelt und das Sortiment weiter ausgebaut wurde. Unterdessen hat Sonja auch Unterstützung bekommen: Winette, Tobias, Nelson, Anja, Wolfram, unsere Praktikanten Michelle und Luca und weitere Helfer  – alles tolle, idealistische Menschen, die The Green Fairy weitgehend freiwillig unterstützen. 


Und unsere Geschichte geht weiter! Ihr kommt genau richtig, um live herausfinden, wie die Ergebnisse unserer Entwicklung schmecken, und mit uns zusammen die Geschichte von The Green Fairy weiterzuschreiben (-:

B2B

Möchtest du unsere Glaces in deinem Laden, Café, Restaurant, Kino, Badi etc. anbieten? Hier findest du unsere Vertriebspartner, bei denen du unsere Glaces bestellen kannst:

Das Buch


​Eis Mit Stil

Veganes Eis kann man auch selber machen! Ist auch gar nicht schwer, wenn man weiß wie. Das nötige Knowhow findest du in meinem liebevoll gestalteten Buch „Eis mit Stil - only vegan“. Hier bekommst du jede Menge Basiswissen und tolle Rezepte von Klassiker-Sorten über amerikanische Eissorten bis zu ausgefallenen und innovativen Rezepten für dein persönliches veganes "Eis mit Stil". Schwieriger zu besorgenden Zutaten in den Rezepten kann man ganz einfach weglassen oder ersetzen - all das erfährst du im Basiswissen-Teil des Buches. Gibts im Buchhandel! 

thegreenfairy vegane glace icecream laktosefrei glutenfreie Bio fairtrade plantbased healthy swissmade switzerland nachhaltig Startup Schweiz

​The Green Fairy

​Zurlindenstrasse 236

CH-8003 Zürich

Switzerland

Kontakt

+41 78 618 55 53

info@thegreenfairy.ch

Viele Fragen sind bereits in unserem FAQ beantwortet:

Discover & Connect

Bleib immer auf dem Laufenden, was bei The Green Fairy passiert! Melde dich dazu für unsere Newsletter an:

Folge Uns auf Social Media